HIMSS Davies Awards Winners: Leading Quality, Improved Patient Care

The HIMSS Davies Awards of Excellence recognize excellence in the implementation of and value from health information technology

The six winners of the 2011 HIMSS Davies Awards deliver quality and consistent care to the patients and populations they serve with information technology – specifically the electronic health record. These healthcare leaders, winners of the HIMSS Davies Awards of Excellence, appear below in the four award categories: organizational, ambulatory, community health organization and public health.

HIMSS Organizational Davies Award – Kaiser Permanente

HIMSS Ambulatory Davies Award – Fallon Clinic & James F. Holsinger, MD, FC

Community Health Organization Davies AwardHudson River HealthCare (HRHCare)

Public Health Davies Award – Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Epidemiology, Electronic Surveillance System for the Early Notification of Community-based Epidemics, Florida (ESSENCE-FL), and The New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene, Primary Care Information Project.

HIMSS Organizational Davies Award – Kaiser Permanente: Headquartered in Oakland, Calif., Kaiser Permanente is one of the nation’s largest not-for-profit health plans, serving more than 8.8 million members with its 36 hospitals and 454 medical offices and more than 15,000 physicians in all specialties. Founded in 1945, the organization followed a 10-year plan beginning in 2002 to implement KP Health Connect, its system-wide E-H-R now used by all hospitals throughout the Kaiser Permanente system to allow clinicians to focus on delivering quality care to patients.
“Congratulations to Kaiser Permanente, the winner of the 2011 Davies Organization Award, for achieving the goals of safer, high quality and patient-centered care. The innovative, comprehensive and consistent use of information technology across the Kaiser healthcare system represents a new standard all of us will strive to achieve,” said C. Eric Hartz, MD, Chair of the HIMSS Organizational Davies Award committee and Chief Medical Information Officer at Eastern Maine Medical Center in Bangor, Maine.  The medical center is the 2008 winner of the Organizational Davies Award.
HIMSS Ambulatory Davies Award: With quality patient care at the forefront of their achievements, the two winners in the ambulatory category are:
Fallon Clinic in Worcester, Mass., is a physician-owned and run not-for-profit multispecialty group practice with 357 providers representing 30 specialties located in 23 sites throughout central Massachusetts. With a thorough needs assessment, vendor selection and EHR implementation, Fallon Clinic achieved measurable improvements in the quality, safety, efficiency and satisfaction of healthcare delivery.
James F. Holsinger, MD, FC, opened his solo family medicine practice in Keokuk, Iowa, a rural community of 20,000 in a county with the highest unemployment rate in the state. The practice started in 2003 with no patients and two part-time visiting specialists renting space in the same building. Now, Dr. Holsinger has 1,400 active patients and is the first fully automated clinic in the area. Profitable in its first 20 months, the practice implemented, and uses in its day-to-day operation, nearly every EHR function and interface available.
“This cycle of evaluating practices for the prestigious Davies Award for excellence in implementation of electronic records has again resulted in the recognition of two outstanding examples of how computerization is leading to improved patient care and outcomes.  We congratulate this year’s winners for their hard work, innovation and dedication to improving patient care,” said Daniel Griffin, MD, Chair of the HIMSS Ambulatory Davies Award committee and founder of Alpenglow Medical, PLLC, in Fort Collins, Colo., a winner of the 2006 Davies Award of Excellence in Ambulatory Care.
Community Health Organization Davies Award: The HIMSS Community Health Organization Davies Award Committee selected Hudson River HealthCare (HRHCare), in Peekskill, NY. Since its founding as the Peekskill Area Ambulatory Health Center in 1975, this healthcare organization has continued its ongoing commitment to improving the quality of care, patient experience and health outcomes for its underserved, uninsured and underinsured patient populations. The health center’s 16 primary care sites serve 64,000 patients, with over 275,000 annual visits, representing a diverse, low income population in rural, urban, migrant, homeless and public housing settings.
“This year’s Community Health Organization Davies recipient, Hudson River Healthcare, has raised the bar for others with the use of health information technology to improve healthcare delivery and increase clinical outcomes for their patients,” said Greg L. Wolverton, FHIMSS, Chief Information Officer, ARcare, in Augusta, Ark., and a 2008 HIMSS Community Health Organization Davies winner. “Congratulations to Hudson River Healthcare for its demonstration of best practice in action and being part of a very prestigious group of recipients that have excelled in implementation of electronic health records and shown sustainability in the use.”
Public Health Davies Award: Recognized in Atlanta at the Public Health Informatics 2011 Conference, sponsored by the Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, two winners of the HIMSS Public Health Davies Award of Excellence now join 14 past public health Davies award winners, all honored for positively impacting population health by optimizing health information technology. The winners are:
•Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Epidemiology, Electronic Surveillance System for the Early
Notification of Community-based Epidemics, Florida (ESSENCE-FL), and
•The New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene, Primary Care Information Project.
More about the Davies Award:
Since 1994, the HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence program has honored 77 healthcare organizations that have implemented health IT, specifically EHRs, in their respective locations. These include:
Organizational Davies Award 
oInitiated in 1994, 30 healthcare organizations recognized
Ambulatory Care Davies Award 
oInitiated in 2003, 23 practices recognized
Public Health Davies Award 
oInitiated in 2004, 16 public health entities recognized
Community Health Organization Award 
oInitiated in 2008, 8 community health organizations recognized
Visit the HIMSS Web site for more information on the Davies Award of Excellence program. HIMSS Davies Award winners will share their success stories of EHR implementation at the 2012 Annual HIMSS Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas, Nev. Visit the HIMSS12 website for more information.
About HIMSS Davies Award of Excellence
The HIMSS Nicholas E. Davies Award of Excellence recognizes excellence in the implementation and use of health information technology, specifically electronic health records (EHRs), for healthcare organizations, private practices, public health systems, and community health organizations.  Created by CPRI-HOST in 1994, the first three recipients of the Davies Organizational Award were recognized in 1995.  In 2002, CPRI-HOST merged with the HIMSS, and now, HIMSS manages the award program.  The Award honors Dr. Nicholas E. Davies, an Atlanta-based practicing physician, president-elect of the American College of Physicians, and a member of the Institute of Medicine Committee on Improving the Patient Record, who died in 1991 in a plane crash. For more information, visit www.himss.org/davies, including educational resources.